Alisa Weilerstein: FRAGMENTS: Chapter One

  • Details

    Single tickets will go on sale on August 22.
    3-concert mini packages are available through The Philharmonic Society of Orange County.

    Part of the Eclectic Orange Series

    Alisa Weilerstein: cello


    FRAGMENTS: Chapter One

    With FRAGMENTS, cellist Alisa Weilerstein creates a space for performer, composer, and listener that is at once physically intimate and philosophically expansive.

    FRAGMENTS is a groundbreaking project for solo cello that weaves together the 36 movements of Bach’s solo cello suites and 27 newly commissioned works, dividing the whole into six hour-long Chapters to be released over several seasons. FRAGMENTS: Chapter One is set against the familiar backdrop of Bach’s Cello Suite No. 1.

    Within each Chapter, individual movements from a single suite and a selection of new works are mindfully arranged into a new emotional arc, set within an atmosphere of responsive lighting and scenic architecture. The music is performed without pause and without a program, creating a wholly original experience that empowers audiences to surrender to their senses.