Anne-Sophie Mutter & Chamber Orchestra Vienna-Berlin

  • Presented By: Philharmonic Society of Orange County
  • Dates: June 25, 2019
  • Location: Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall
  • 615 Town Center Drive, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
  • Phone: (949) 553-2422
  • Time: 8:00 PM
  • Price: Tickets starting at $38
  • Details

    Anne-Sophie Mutter, violin
    Karl Heinz Schütz, flute
    Jonathan Kelly, oboe
    Andreas Ottensamer, clarinet
    Stefan Dohr, horn
    Richard Galler, bassoon

    MOZART: Violin Concertos

    Violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter teams up with principal wind players from the Vienna Philharmonic and Berlin Philharmonic for Mozart's brilliant Violin Concertos.

    Four-time Grammy Award-winner Anne-Sophie Mutter is one of the leading international artists in the world’s major concert halls, serving not only as soloist, but as a visionary in supporting composers and mentoring young string players. Her career as a violin virtuoso and musical phenomenon spans more than 40 years, and began with her debuts in recital at the 1976 Lucerne Festival and as a soloist with the Berlin Philharmonic and Herbert von Karajan at the 1977 Salzburg Whitsun Concert. Ms. Mutter has been awarded the 2017 ‘Crystal Award’ by the World Economic Forum for her services to music education and young artists, and is also the proud holder of the Siemens Music Prize, the German Grand Order of Merit, the French Medal of the Legion of Honour, the Bavarian Order of Merit, the Decoration of Honour for Services to the Republic of Austria, and numerous other honors.

    The Ensemble Wien-Berlin traces its beginnings to 1983 at a small music festival in the south of Lower Saxony, where five members of the Vienna Philharmonic and Berlin Philharmonic came together to play chamber music. The collaboration proved so harmonious that the musicians did not want to leave it at that one-time event and went on to tour together, quickly establishing the group's reputation as an internationally outstanding wind quintet. The ensemble is comprised of flutist Karl Heinz Schütz and bassoonist Richard Galler from the Vienna Philharmonic and oboist Jonathan Kelly, clarinetist Andreas Ottensamer, and horn player Stefan Dohr from the Berliner Philharmoniker.