Astor Piazzolla at 100: Philippe Quint and Members of the Joffrey Ballet

  • Details

    Philippe Quint, violin

    Rodolfo Zanetti, bandoneón
    Pedro Giraudo, bass
    Alom Ahmed, piano
    Federico Diaz, guitar

    Christine Rocas, dancer
    Derrick Agnoletti, dancer
    Edson Barbosa, dancer
    Nicolas Blanc, choreographer

    PIAZZOLLA (arr. Pedro Giraudo): Villeguita
    CARLOS GARDEL (arr. John Williams): "Por Una Cabeza"
    JERRY BOCK (arr. John Williams): Excerpts from Fiddler on the Roof
    PIAZZOLLA (arr. Sofia Gubaidulina): Le Grand Tango
    GINASTERA (arr. Charles Coleman): Tres Piezas, Op. 6, No. 1, “Cuyana”
    STRAVINSKY (arr. by Samuel Dushkin): Scherzo from The Firebird
    BARTÓK: Romanian Folk Dance, Sz. 56, Nos. 1, 4 & 6
    PIAZZOLLA: Prelude No. 1
    NADIA BOULANGER (arr. Charles Coleman): Three Pieces for Cello and Piano, No. 3
    PIAZZOLLA (arr. Pedro Giraudo): Tango Triunfal
    ELLINGTON/GRAPPELLI (arr. John Novacek): In a Sentimental Mood
    PIAZZOLLA: Oblivion
    BACH: Violin Sonata No. 4 in C minor, BWV 1017, mvt. 1
    PIAZZOLLA (arr. Pedro Giraudo): Muerte del Ángel

    Multi-Grammy-nominated violinist Philippe Quint and members of the world-class, Chicago-based Joffrey Ballet celebrate tango legend Astor Piazzolla in a performance of music and dance.

    Lauded by The Times (London) for his “bravura technique and unflagging energy,” Philippe Quint is internationally praised for his unique takes on classical core repertoire, support of contemporary composers and passion for giving new life to neglected works. For this celebration of Astor Piazzolla, Quint collaborates with the renowned Joffrey Ballet, one of the premier ballet companies performing today.

    "Quint’s tonal opulence, generously inflected with subtle portamentos, sounds like a throwback to the glory days of Fritz Kreisler." – BBC Music Magazine