Bruce Forman, John Clayton, Jeff Hamilton:The Poll Winners Revisited

  • Details

    Bruce Forman (guitar), John Clayton (bass), and Jeff Hamilton (drums), bring back to life the swinging grace of their musical mentors with The Poll Winners Revisited — making its public debut on the Barclay stage.

    When guitarist Barney Kessel, bassist Ray Brown and drummer Shelly Manne created their trio in 1956, they called themselves The Poll Winners. It was only natural since all three musicians were routinely on the top of DownBeat’s polls for their respective instrument. The five Poll Winners albums on the legendary Los Angeles-based jazz label — Contemporary Records — are classics that set the standard for all guitar trio projects that followed.

    Performing on The Poll Winners’ original instruments, Forman, Clayton, and Hamilton revisit the original trio’s musical legacy. These classic instruments, together the creative musical voices of Forman, Clayton, and Hamilton, will create a beautiful evening of homage to the extraordinary artists who inspired jazz audiences the world over.