Taiwan Philharmonic

  • Presented By: Philharmonic Society of Orange County
  • Dates: October 30, 2018
  • Location: Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall
  • 615 Town Center Drive, Suite 100, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
  • Phone: (949) 553-2422
  • Price: Tickets starting at $38
  • Details

    Shao-Chia Lü, conductor
    Stephen Hough, piano

    GORDON CHIN: “Dancing Song” from Three Aboriginal Songs for Orchestra
    LISZT: Piano Concerto No. 1
    DEBUSSY: La mer
    RAVEL: Daphnis and Chloe Suite No. 2

    Following the Taiwan Philharmonic's triumphant U.S. debut in Costa Mesa in 2016, the Los Angeles Times declared, "The Taiwan Philharmonic is overdue for a major U.S. tour." This fall, the Taiwan Philharmonic (known as the National Symphony Orchestra at home) returns with music director Shao-Chia Lü and pianist Stephen Hough.

    Regarded as a Renaissance man of his time, Stephen Hough has a reputation as a uniquely insightful concert pianist and also as a writer and composer. Mr. Hough is commended for his mastery of the instrument as well as an individual and inquisitive mind that has earned him a multitude of prestigious awards and a longstanding international following. In 2001, Mr. Hough became the first classical performing artist to win a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship. He was awarded the 2008 Northwestern University’s Jean Gimbel Lane Prize in Piano and went on to win the Royal Philharmonic Society Instrumentalist Award in 2010. In December 2013 Mr. Hough was made a Commander of the British Empire (CBE).