Trio Barclay: Schubert and Chang

  • Details

    Irvine Barclay Theatre Ensemble-in-Residence

    Dennis Kim: violin
    Jonah Kim: cello
    Sean Kennard: piano


    REENA ESMAIL: Saans (Breath)
    SEBASTIAN CHANG: World Premiere
    SCHUBERT: Piano Trio No. 2 in E-flat major, D.929

    Franz Schubert’s second piano trio—rich in thematic ideas, constant transformations and ingenious details—is a formidable challenge for musicians. Trio Barclay’s stunning musicality will be fully on display as they bring their interpretive style and musical precision to bear on this compositional masterwork.

    This second of three Trio Barclay performance this season features two new works: Reena Esmail’s Saans (Breath), a deeply personal work reflecting the composer’s love for her dear friend, pianist Suzana Bartal; and a world premiere from Sebastian Chang, former Composer-in-Residence for the Louisville Orchestra.

    Buy Tickets